Question re: expert swordsmen

For feedback, questions and ideas about army lists from the rule book, website or sourcebooks

Question re: expert swordsmen

Postby Mars Ultor » Tue Mar 03, 2015 2:08 pm

The 1 1/2 ranks attacking counts when the unit charges, right? I had previously thought that all benefits were accrued in subsequent combat turns. That would give a little more umph to the Hastati...

Stuart (or anyone else), if you read this, can you explain the rationale behind the rule of the 1 1/2 ranks? I'm not a expert in close-in fighting - Is it really that back ranks would be attacking, or is it just a bonus to represent the skill with the sword vs. regular units that aren't so skilled?
Mars Ultor
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 3:44 am

Re: Question re: expert swordsmen

Postby Stuart at GEG » Thu Mar 12, 2015 10:58 am

Yes, it only fails to count on a turn in which they are charged.

The idea was to reflect the skill of good troops in very close formation fighting with blades. It reflects the ability of such a unit being able to bring more weapons to bear in a compact area.
Stuart at GEG
Site Admin
Posts: 441
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2012 9:42 pm

Return to Army List Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests