Charged Cataphracts armed with kontos

Specifically for question/clarifications referencing the CoE rule book

Charged Cataphracts armed with kontos

Postby Leukolycos » Wed Mar 19, 2014 5:38 pm

I need help to correctly interpret a specific tactical situation:

A unit of cataphracts armed with kontos is charged (in front, clear terrain) by cavalry armed with long lances. Because of the kontos, cataphracts strike first, obviously, but do the modifiers for armour check and roll to kill against the chargers still apply?
I mean, since cataphracts may not counter-charge and they also move pretty slowly, their kontos become quite useless against enemy cavalry.
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2014 2:24 am

Re: Charged Cataphracts armed with kontos

Postby Darren Smith » Thu Mar 20, 2014 11:08 pm

I would have thought the Cataphracts would use Hand Weapon as Kontos is useless when charged. I thought the bonus for Kontos only applies IF the unit charges or countercharges. They cant countercharge so they better make the right choice in the declare charges phase!! :)
Darren Smith
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 5:32 pm

Return to Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest