I asked this exact question on the old forums months and months ago, and Stuart was kind enough to answer...
Unfortunately, it's been a good 6 months or more since I've had the opportunity for a game of CoE, and I've forgotten what the original answer was!
The question: In the later Spartan list, the Spartans have the expert swordsmen rule. They also have spears which allows them to fight in two ranks (even when charging seeing as they are a phalanx). In most cases after the charge it would be beneficial to fight with their swords to take advantage of the expert swordsmen rule's negative modifier to your opponents armour saves. So, can a Spartan unit switch weapon options between combat rounds? For example, can I have the best of both worlds by charging in with my spears in round 1, but then in the second round switching over to swords?
My gut tells me, yes, they can switch (otherwise why have the rule in the first place). But I want to be sure before playing my next game.